Worldbuilding: Political Geography

I had planned on eventually writing a post about making believable geographies, but this article explains it better than I could have.

My Former Blog

I can’t promise that this will be a weekly series yet, but I want to get it rolling anyway. I’ve wanted to talk about worldbuilding on a regular basis here for months, I just haven’t been able to find the time to do it. A believable setting is essential to fiction. I think of it as one of the big three (believable characters and a compelling plot are the other two). A good setting alone doesn’t get you a good story, but a bad setting will certainly prevent a story from being good. “Worldbuilding” is a term used by some genres (especially sci-fi and fantasy) for the techniques that go into creating a believable setting.

Since my own worldbuilding activities are focused solely on a single fantasy world, that’s where my examples will come from, but many worldbuilding techniques can be applied to other genres. There are lots of ways to…

View original post 1,016 more words

2 thoughts on “Worldbuilding: Political Geography

  1. Thanks for reblogging, Thomas! I started to just reply over on my blog but I said, what the heck, just take the extra second and comment on the reblog itself 🙂

    I know everyone doesn’t think this way, but I think believable geographies are insanely important.

    I’ll have a similar post on starting a continent in the next couple of weeks.

    • Thanks, I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that about geographies. I actually took a college class on physical geography as an elective just so I could understand it better for my map making. I wanted to know where best to put the mountains and deserts, and the class actually helped me understand it better so that I wouldn’t just do a slapdash of a world.

Leave a Reply

