6 Things You Can’t Learn Without Finishing

Seeing as I’m in the process of revising “Wrath of the Fallen”, this is fairly applicable to me, and something important for all writers out there to remember, whether your world is for a story or a game.

Saga of Menyoral

I finished a manuscript for my third book.

Excited. I’m satisfied with the work (and panicking, because it’s off to the editor, and I can’t help that little niggle of what-if-it-sucks), and so I thought I’d take a few minutes to talk about finishing. Here are six things you can’t learn without finishing your manuscripts. There are more, I’m sure, but these are the ones I can come up with.

1. Pacing

If you’ve never written an ending, you can’t learn how to write a middle. How do you keep pushing? Keep building tension? How do you write a climax? You’ll never know until you write an ending. You can’t go back and study the shape of your work without having a completed piece.

2. Theme

You can decide on theme beforehand, I suppose, but I feel as if what the story is about isn’t always clear until you write…

View original post 267 more words

Leave a Reply

